Mac Con Iomaire, Tomás (c.1874-?)


Tomás Mac Con Iomaire (front row, second from left; with the kind
                  permission of the National Folklore Collection, UCD)
Tomás Mac Con Iomaire (front row, second from left; with the kind permission of the National Folklore Collection, UCD)

Biographical Note

Mac Con Iomaire (Mhac Con Iomaire, Mac an Iomaire, Ridge), Tomás (Thomas) (c.1874-?): Tomás Mac Con Iomaire was born in Cuilleen, Carna, county Galway, around 1874. He attended Carna National School. His father was a farmer and fisherman and he himself was a farmer (according to the Personalbogen form). According to Seán Mac Giollarnáth (Loinnir Mac Leabhair agus sgéalta gaisgidh eile, Dublin, 1936) he also spent years working on the sea. He was living in Cuilleen, Carna, during the censuses of 1901 [] and 1911 []. He and his wife, Norah, whom he married around 1905, had three children by 1911. Both he and his brother, Pádhraic, provided folkloric material to the collector Liam Mac Coisdealbha. Tomás supplied a number of stories to Seán Mac Giollarnáth which were published in Loinnir Mac Leabhair agus sgéalta gaisgidh eile. Folkloric material collected from him may be found in the National Folklore Collection, UCD, also. He is mentioned in the diary of Liam Mac Coisdealbha (NFC, Vol. 185, 28/11/1935; 2/12/1935).

Personal Details Form ('Personalbogen')

Personalbogen Personalbogen

A personal details form (‘Personalbogen’) was completed for each speaker at the Doegen Scheme recording sessions 1928-31. The information displayed below is derived mainly from these forms.

Personalbogen form(s) for this speaker (RIA Library ref.)Doegen P-B/168
Record number(s) for this speakerLA 1133
Track title(s) for this speakerFianna Éireann agus Rí Lochlann - Tomás Mac Con Iomaire (c.1874-?)
Track ID(s) for this speaker (User Version)LA_1133d1
Forename(s) (Canonical)Tomás
Surname (Canonical)Mac Con Iomaire
Alias forename(s)


Alias surname(s)
  • Mhac Con Iomaire
  • Mac an Iomaire
  • Ridge
County of originCo. Galway
AddressCuilleen, Carna, Co. Galway
Date of birth No data
Place of birthCuilleen, Carna, Co. Galway
Nearest big town to place of birthGalway
Place(s) lived age 0-6Cuilleen, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 7-20Cuilleen, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived from age 20Cuilleen, Carna, Co. Galway
EducationPrimary school, Carna National School, Co. Galway
Father's home placeCuilleen, Co. Galway
Mother's home placeCuilleen, Co. Galway
Father's professionFarmer and fisherman
Mother tongueIrish
Languages spoken other than IrishA little English
Able to read?Yes (English)
Able to write?Yes (English)
Able to play a musical instrument?No
Able to sing or play modern European kinds of music?No
Names (of RIA committee members, recordist) appearing on formTomás Ó Máille
Comment(s) on voice etc. No data