Ó Fathaigh, Mícheál

Biographical Note

Ó Fathaigh (Fahey), Mícheál (Michael) (c.1878-?): Mícheál Ó Fathaigh was born in Tawin Island, county Galway, around 1878. He attended Tawin National School. Like his father, he was a farmer. As an adult, he spent a year in England and a year in America. He was living in the vicinity of Oranmore during the census of 1901 [http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai000806359/]. He was living about a mile outside of Galway when folklore collector Proinnsias de Búrca met him many years later. He used to return to Tawin to reap the harvest. He is described in de Búrca’s diary as a man of about 60 who was a little lame. The diary also mentions the time he had spent with Éamon de Valera years before in the Irish-language college in Tawin. Further folkoric material collected from him is available in the National Folklore Collection, UCD, as is Proinnsias de Búrca’s diary (NFC, Vol. 343, 31/7/1936; 1/8/1936).

Personal Details Form ('Personalbogen')

Personalbogen Personalbogen

A personal details form (‘Personalbogen’) was completed for each speaker at the Doegen Scheme recording sessions 1928-31. The information displayed below is derived mainly from these forms.

Personalbogen form(s) for this speaker (RIA Library ref.)Doegen P-B/181
Record number(s) for this speakerLA 1149
Track title(s) for this speakerCuraidh crua na Craoibhe Ruaidh' - Mícheál Ó Fathaigh
Track ID(s) for this speaker (User Version)LA_1149g1
Forename(s) (Canonical)Mícheál
Surname (Canonical)Ó Fathaigh
Alias forename(s)


Alias surname(s)
  • Fahey
County of originCo. Galway
AddressTawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway
Date of birth No data
Place of birthTawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway
Nearest big town to place of birthGalway
Place(s) lived age 0-6Tawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 7-20Tawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived from age 20Tawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway, but spent 1 year in England and one year in America.
EducationPrimary school, Tawin National School, Co. Galway
Father's home placeTawin, Oranmore, Co. Galway
Mother's home placeLisheenavalla (Lisheenanvalla), Turloughmore, Co. Galway
Father's professionFarmer
Mother tongueIrish
Languages spoken other than Irish

No data.

Able to read?Yes (Irish and English)
Able to write?Yes (Irish and English)
Able to play a musical instrument?No
Able to sing or play modern European kinds of music?No
Names (of RIA committee members, recordist) appearing on formTomás Ó Máille
Comment(s) on voice etc."Speaks with considerable resonance and mouth rather close and this dims and blurs the effect."