Ó Niadh, Tomás


Tomás Ó Niadh (front row, third from left; with the kind permission of the National Folklore Collection, UCD)
Tomás Ó Niadh (front row, third from left; with the kind permission of the National Folklore Collection, UCD)

Biographical Note

Ó Niadh (Nee), Tomás (Thomas) (c.1863-?): Tomás Ó Niadh was born in Bunnahown, Cashel, county Galway, around 1863. He received some primary education in Cashel. His father was a farmer and he himself was a weaver and farmer. As an adult, he spent a year in America and a year in Scotland. He was living in Bunnahown with his family during the censuses of 1901 [http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai000805693/] and 1911 [http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai002376212/]. He and his wife, Bridget, whom he married around 1890, had eleven children by 1911, but there were only nine surviving at that time. Some folkloric material collected from him is available in the National Folklore Collection, UCD.

Personal Details Form ('Personalbogen')

Personalbogen Personalbogen

A personal details form (‘Personalbogen’) was completed for each speaker at the Doegen Scheme recording sessions 1928-31. The information displayed below is derived mainly from these forms.

Personalbogen form(s) for this speaker (RIA Library ref.)Doegen P-B/172
Record number(s) for this speakerLA 1137
Track title(s) for this speakerFaraor géar deacrach! - Tomás Ó Niadh
Coinleach glas an fhómhair - Tomás Ó Niadh
Tiobóid Sheáin Mhóir - Tomás Ó Niadh
Track ID(s) for this speaker (User Version)LA_1137g1, LA_1137g2, LA_1137g3
Forename(s) (Canonical)Tomás
Surname (Canonical)Ó Niadh
Alias forename(s)


Alias surname(s)
  • Ó Niaidh
  • Nee
County of originCo. Galway
AddressBunnahown, Cashel, Connemara, Co. Galway
Date of birth No data
Place of birthBunnahown, Cashel, Co. Galway
Nearest big town to place of birthRoundstone, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 0-6Bunnahown, Cashel, Connemara, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 7-20Bunnahown, Cashel, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived from age 20America 1 year; Scotland 1 year
Education"A little", Cashel, Co. Galway
Father's home placeKylemore, Co. Galway
Mother's home placeInishnee, Roundstone, Co. Galway
Father's professionSmall farmer
Mother tongueIrish
Languages spoken other than IrishEnglish
Able to read?Yes (English)
Able to write?Yes (English)
Able to play a musical instrument?No
Able to sing or play modern European kinds of music?No ("can sing a little")
ProfessionWeaver and farmer
Names (of RIA committee members, recordist) appearing on formTomás Ó Máille
Comment(s) on voice etc. No data