Ó Ceithearnaigh, Máirtín

Biographical Note

Ó Ceithearnaigh (Carney, Ó Ceárna), Máirtín (Martin) (c.1863-?): Máirtín Ó Ceithearnaigh was born in Cloghbrack, Clonbur, county Galway, around 1863. He received no formal education. His father was a farmer and he himself was a farmer and sailor. His mother’s name was Bridget Carney. He was living in Cloghbrack during the censuses of 1901 [http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai000836981/] and 1911 [http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai002428707/]. He married Margaret Carney around 1888. They had two daughters and one son. In the Irish Folklore Collection, there is a description by collector Proinnsias de Búrca of the first time he met Máirtín, while fishing, in 1935. According to de Búrca, the family lived in 'the furthest house west in the glen', between two hills, in 'Gleann Tréig, Cloich Bhric'. In 1941, his married son and daughter-in-law and their children were living in the house with him. Folkloric material collected from him is housed in the National Folklore Collection, UCD. Proinnsias de Búrca’s diary entries on him are under the name Máirtín Ó Ceárna (NFC, Vol. 343, 25/9/1935.; NFC, Vol. 873, 15/7/1941, 20/7/1941).

Personal Details Form ('Personalbogen')


A personal details form (‘Personalbogen’) was completed for each speaker at the Doegen Scheme recording sessions 1928-31. The information displayed below is derived mainly from these forms.

Personalbogen form(s) for this speaker (RIA Library ref.)Doegen P-B/146
Record number(s) for this speakerLA 1106
Track title(s) for this speakerDán Dhonncha Mhóir - Máirtín Ó Ceithearnaigh
Track ID(s) for this speaker (User Version)LA_1106g1
Forename(s) (Canonical)Máirtín
Surname (Canonical)Ó Ceithearnaigh
Alias forename(s)

No data.

Alias surname(s)

No data.

County of originCo. Galway
AddressGleann Tréig, Clonbur, Co. Galway
Date of birth No data
Place of birthCloghbrack, Clonbur, Co. Galway
Nearest big town to place of birthClonbur, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 0-6Cloghbrack, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived age 7-20Cloghbrack, Co. Galway
Place(s) lived from age 20Cloghbrack, Co. Galway
EducationNo formal education
Father's home placeCloghbrack, Co. Galway
Mother's home placeCloghbrack, Co. Galway
Father's professionFarmer
Mother tongueIrish
Languages spoken other than IrishNo other language
Able to read?No
Able to write?No
Able to play a musical instrument?No
Able to sing or play modern European kinds of music?No
ProfessionFarmer and sailor
Names (of RIA committee members, recordist) appearing on formTomás Ó Máille, M. Díolún (= Myles Dillon)
Comment(s) on voice etc. No data